Restore the original bootloader on Amiko Viper 4k v40

Liquid

Staff member
Administrator
During the implementation of the Vuplus multiboot I studied how the other OEM's implemented the multiboot on hisilicon platform.
So I dumped the partition of my sf8008 with dd command and looked at the content with a hex viewer.
So there is a boot partition, a bootargs partition, a kernel partition (recovery), the logo partition, and a couple of other partitions.
Using binwalk I uncompressed the recovery partition to look at it deeper... it is a kernel with linked a small compressed ramfs with a custom developed recovery program.
The boot partition instead contains some initialisation logic and the code that read the bootargs partition and dynamically read the boot options from STARTUP file.

Someone told me that on linuxsat a guy published a modified recovery to activate the multiboot on Amiko Viper 4k v40.
I was pretty interested in the solution but I didn't trust it so much, so I dissected the implementation.

From the post description it required a different remote so probably the guy took the bootloader and the recovery from a dinobot box and changed some stuff to adapt it for the v40.
But then you need the dinobot remote to use the recovery.

The recovery application can manage up to 2 partitions and after passing it on "ghidra" I compared it with the original recovery and the one extracted from the zgemma/pulse4k/hd61 recovery.
Funny that the recovery for zgemma is able to manage the Viper 4k v40 remote.

But how that guy created the usb_update.bin file?
Easy, he used "https://github.com/oe-alliance/oe-a...o/recipes-bsp/amiko-buildimage/buildimage.zip".

I manually dissected the usb_update... it has a header, then the partitioned data with a crc or something similar...

Code:
diff -u -N -r binew/ modded
diff -u -N -r binew/mkupdate.c modded/mkupdate.c
--- binew/mkupdate.c    2020-04-28 10:34:21.000000000 +0200
+++ modded/mkupdate.c   2023-04-23 00:43:12.510586365 +0200